Skip to content ↓

Child Protection and Safeguarding

Child Protection & Safeguarding at Furze Platt Senior School

The wellbeing and safety of our students and staff is our number one priority. As such, we take all safeguarding and child protection issues very seriously.

We are committed to ensuring the welfare of all students and require all staff, volunteers and visitors to share this commitment.

The school will not tolerate any discriminatory, rude, aggressive or threatening behaviour to any staff, students or any member of our wider community.

Prior to employment all staff (paid or voluntary) are DBS checked for their suitability to work with children and young people. For more information on the Disclosure Barring Service click here.

All staff at the school are provided with mandatory ‘initial’ safeguarding training when they join the school. This is then followed up with annual ‘refresher’ training. Both initial and refresher training sessions cover roles and responsibilities of staff, signs to look out for and what to do in the event of a concern. All safeguarding training is led by the Designated Safeguarding Lead or one of the Deputy Headteachers. Staff also complete online 'Safeguarding in Education', provided by www.childprotectioncompany.com every two years.

The school ensures that all staff have read both the DfE’s “Keeping Children Safe in Education (2022)” guidance and the school’s Child Protection & Safeguarding Policy.

 

The Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) is Laura Lewis (Deputy Headteacher)

Contact details: email: laura.lewis@furzeplatt.net  tel: 01628 625308 x127

The Senior Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead (SDDSL) is:

Rebecca Lake (Deputy Headteacher)

Contact details: email: Rebecca.Lake@furzeplatt.net  tel: 01628 625308 x122

 

The Deputy Designated Safeguarding Leads (DDSL) are:

Key Stage

Head of Key Stage

Year

Head of Progress

Pastoral Manager

3

Andrew Wyles

(Assistant Headteacher)

Andrew.Wyles@furzeplatt.net  01628 625308 x492

7

Laura Sharp

laura.sharp@furzeplatt.net

01628 625308  x213

Maxine Carpenter

maxine.carpenter@furzeplatt.net   01628 625308 x145

8

Annie Towell

annie.towell@furzeplatt.net

01628 625308  x235

Sasha Gumbs

sasha.gumbs@furzeplatt.net

01628 625308 x151

9

Nic Jones

nicolas.jones@furzeplatt.net   01628 625308  x295

Jemma Barney

jemma.barney@furzeplatt.net   01628 625308  x144

4

James Dollery

(Assistant Headteacher)

james.dollery@furzeplatt.net 01628 625308 x133

10

Chris Djaelani

christopher.djaelani@furzeplatt.net

01628 625308  x187

Beth Harper

beth.harper@furzeplatt.net  01628 625308 x164

11

Charlotte Ridgley

charlotte.ridgley@furzeplatt.net 

01628 625308  x191

Larna Barney

larna.barney@furzeplatt.net   01628 625308 x417

5

Pete Ging

(Assistant Headteacher)

peter.ging@furzeplatt.net

01628 625308  x601

12

Kate Kalinowski

kate.kalinowski@furzeplatt.net

01628 625308 x361

Mary Pasa

mary.pasa@furzeplatt.net

01628 625308 x603

13

Andrew Colmer

andrew.colmer@furzeplatt.net

01628 625308  x301

 

DDSL for SEND

Bethan Stiles

(Assistant Headteacher)

Bethan.stiles@furzeplatt.net

01628 625308 x 441

 

The Designated Teacher for Looked After Children is Laura Lewis (Deputy Headteacher)

Contact details: email: laura.lewis@furzeplatt.net  tel: 01628 625308 x127

 

Please contact any member of our safeguarding team on 01628 625308 or via email at safeguarding@furzeplatt.net

All visitors to the school are required to sign in at Reception and to read our 'Safeguarding and safety information for all visitors' leaflet.